Skip to content

Chita Rivera Awards 2022 for Dance In New York City Have Received Nominations

Founded in honor of one of the greatest dance icons in American musical theater, the Chita Rivera Awards are designed to recognize and promote dance and choreography excellence. The annual awards honor not only the outstanding achievements of each nominee but also the talent and dedication of every theatrical choreographer and dancer.

They are the only awards ceremony dedicated exclusively to dance. Chita Rivera Awards also aim to foster a sense of community by investing in future generations and preserving remarkable dance history through education and scholarships.

Broadway, Off-Broadway, and Film nominees this year have taken into account outstanding choreography, featured dancers, and ensembles from shows that opened prior to Covid as well as those that will open in 2021-2022. The final nominations for Broadway were determined by a Broadway awarding committee.

In keeping with previous announcements, Joel Gray (Cabaret; Wicked; Anything Goes) will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award at this year’s Tony Awards. Two special awards will be presented to Off-Broadway musical theater performers in recognition of their achievements.

Also Read: Eminem Grammy Awards: Everything You Need To Know!

And the nominees for the 2022 Chita Rivera Awards are:

chita rivera awards

Outstanding Choreography in a Broadway Show: Camille A.Brown, for colored girls who have considered suicide/when the rainbow is enuf; Warren Carlyle, The Music Man; Bill T. Jones, Garrett Coleman, Jason Oremus, Paradise Square; Annie-B Parson, american utopia; Sonya Taye, Moulin Rouge; and Christopher WheeldonMJ the Musical;

Outstanding Male Dancer in a Broadway Show: Sidney DuPont, Paradise Square; Myles Frost, MJ the Musical; Jared Grimes, Funny Girl; Hugh Jackman, The Music Man; AJ Shively, Paradise Square; and Tony Yazbeck, flying over sunset;

Outstanding Female Dancer in a Broadway Show: Sutton-Foster, The Music Man; Robyn Hurder, Moulin Rouge; Tendayi Kuumba, for colored girls who have considered suicide/when the rainbow is enuf; Heather Lang, Jagged Little Pill; and Adrienne Warren, Tina: The Tina Turner Musical;

Outstanding Ensemble in a Broadway Show: american utopia; for colored girls who have considered suicide/when the rainbow is enuf; MJ the Musical; Moulin Rouge; Paradise Square; and The Music Man;

Outstanding Choreography in an Off-Broadway Show: Josh Prince, Trevor;

Outstanding Ensemble in an Off-Broadway Show: The Wrong Man;

Outstanding Choreography for a Theatrical Release: cinderellaChoreographer Ashley Wallen, Assistant Choreographer Jenny Griffin; Everyone’s Talking About JamieChoreographer Kate Prince, Assistant Choreographer Tommy Franzen; In The HeightsChoreographer Christopher Scott (3 Associate and 3 Assistant Choreographers); tick, tick. . . BOOM!, Choreographer Ryan Heffington, Associate Choreographer Ryan Spencer; and West Side StoryChoreographer Justin Peck, Associate Choreographer Craig Salstein (Original choreography by Jerome Robbins; Original Broadway Production Co-Choreographed by Peter Gennaro).

Also Read: See the Complete List of Nominees for the Lucille Lortel Awards in 2022

Outstanding Direction of a Documentary Release: Ballerina Boys – The TrocaderosDirectors Chana Gazit and Martie Barylick; Can You Bring It: Bill T. Jones and D-Man in the WatersDirectors Tom Hurwitz and Rosalynde LeBlanc; Dance Dreams: Hot Chocolate NutcrackerDirector Oliver Bokelberg; First Try, Principal Josh Prince; and Maurice Hines: Bring Them BackDirector John Carluccio.

chita rivera awards

Monday, June 20, 7:30 pm at the NYU Skirball Center for the Performing Arts, 566 LaGuardia Place, New York City will be the date and location of the 4th Annual Chita Rivera Awards. Broadway shows, special honorees, and well-known presenters will be part of the star-studded evening.

Tickets for the $100-500 range can be purchased online. All proceeds will go to the NYC Dance Alliance Foundation College Scholarship Program, which provides financial assistance to deserving high school seniors. To enter the building, attendees must show proof of vaccination against the COVID-19 virus and wear a mask at all times.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.